Meet Rachel Cox!

Hello!

My name is Rachel Cox and I am a rising junior at Transy!

Cox.MeetRachelCox.Photo1I was born in Salt Lake City, Utah but I grew up in Northern Kentucky and attended Simon Kenton High School. I have a younger sister and my family lives on a horse farm in Crittenden, KY. I love all kinds of music and I love to travel. Some of my hobbies outside of Transy include riding horses, snow skiing and boating.

Here at Transy, I am a biology major and a chemistry and psychology minor. My post graduate plans consists of attending medical school and becoming a doctor for one of the branches of the military.

I am involved in many activities on and off campus. I am a member of the Transylvania Women’s Basketball Team. We are currently ranked in the top 25 teams in the nation and I am a huge advocate for NCAA Division III athletics. Transy is a great place to be a student athlete. We recently traveled to Los Angeles, California and we played games at Pomona College and Claremont College.

I am also a member of Chi Omega. I had not planned on joining a sorority prior to coming to Transy but I have never looked back once I decided to join. I found a home in Chi Omega and my sisters are the best support system that I could ask for. I also believe that Transy has one of the best Greek communities in terms of all of the chapters being very inclusive. I have many friends in many other sororities, fraternities, as well as many unaffiliated friends.

Other groups on campus that I am a part of include Habitat for Humanity, which is a community service group, and the PROs team, a group of current students who help with recruitment of potential students. I am also a Keeneland Ambassador and a volunteer at the Kentucky Horse Park.

