The First of Many

By Jordan Long

Why hello there! My name is Jordan Long and I am a junior here at Transylvania University. I am pursuing a degree in Writing, Rhetoric, and Communications along with a minor in Religion, basically I live in Haupt Humanities. I cannot wait to embark on this blogging journey, but first let me tell you a little bit about myself.

Long.Profile Photo

I am from a small town in Western Kentucky called Benton, which is about four hours from my residency in Lexington! Benton is known for the cultural event of Big Singing and a festival known as Tater Day. Although I do get homesick occasionally, my involvement in the Transy community always keeps me distracted!

Just like every other student at Transy, I am involved in everything I possibly can make time for. I am an Admissions Ambassador along with serving on the Executive Council of my sorority, Chi Omega. I participate in two volunteer organizations, Students Against Hunger and Homelessness and Habitat for Humanity, where we volunteer in the Lexington community by helping build houses and providing sandwiches for the Hope Center. I am also a member of the national honorary Alpha Lambda Delta, the religious organization Cru, the student led spirit organization The Crimson Crazies, and a mentee in the 100 Doors to Success program.

Off campus you can find me hanging out at Keeneland as a College Ambassador, where I get to promote Keeneland and all of the amazing scholarship opportunities it offers! I work in a shop at the Lexington Civic Center, which is just a short walk from Transy in the middle of downtown. You can always find me eating Qdoba queso or binge-watching any Shonda Rhimes show on Netflix. A fun fact about me is that I love to travel; I’ve been to over 8 different countries and to Disney World more than 30 times!

I’m excited to share Transylvania with you all as they happen in my crazy, wonderful college experience! You can keep up with me on Twitter @JoLong22 or Instagram @jordanbl!

Here’s to the next year!

