Paris is for (Dog) Lovers

Sam Crankshaw

The dream of Paris is to walk hand in hand with your significant other on the shady boulevards once graced by some of the greatest artists, writers, and politicians, right? (Sounds like Transy, right?) It is the city of love after all.

While you might not be living in the exact cliché moment mentioned above, you are certain to fall in love in Paris, be it with the endless supply of museums, historic sites, leafy neighborhoods, parks, the Seine, the baguettes, or the dogs.

I officially marked my tenth trip to Paris in my life just last weekend, yet I was still finding myself in a new, yet familiar city every step of the way. Paris is just 2 hours from my home in Caen, so it makes for a good weekend trip, as well as a good rest stop for a train or flight connection to somewhere else.

Just two days ago I saw an amazing Impressionist expo at Musée d’Orsay, a tattoo exhibition that was actually studied in one of Transy’s own art history classes at Musée du Quai Branly, and enjoyed a sunny walk down the Seine. I also happened to be there the weekend before, when I visited Trocadéro, the Latin Quarter (where all of the students live), and Jardin du Luxembourg, among other sites. I have plans to return to finally conquer the Louvre. (The best part about Europe is that you’re student card gets you into museums for free all over the European Union).

Living in Europe for an extended time has opened my eyes to things that no short term stay of my past ever could have. If I have learned one thing, it’s that every day must be an adventure. My friend Hannah and I have a countdown for our return to the US, but not for the reason you are thinking; we have it to remind us just how short this stay really is, and that we have to utilize every second. (Though I cannot wait to get back to Transy). Be it a day of Matisse and Monet, a cheese and cider tour, or something as simple as relaxing in a café, every aspect exposes me to something new.

Paris may be the city of love, but I fell in love with it’s love of dogs. The French love their dogs. They let them in restaurants, in their handbags, in the parks, and more. Studying abroad doesn’t just prepare you to analyze and understand views on complicated issues like conflicts, and trade; it also exposes you to the simplest, and often most compelling, cultural quirks. Transy is capable of giving you a world view from the classroom, but with its global reach, Transy develops you into a world citizen.

