Hitting the Town

Sam Crankshaw

Is one of your biggest fears about leaving for college that you will have trouble leaving your friend groups from home and making new ones away? It’s quite typical, but it’s not something that anyone should be afraid of, especially at such a personal, inclusive, while at the same time; a community-driven school like Transy.

Despite knowing how easy the transition from high school to Transy was, I had the very same aforementioned fear about studying abroad. But fear not, just like Transy, it is virtually impossible to be isolated and without friends. Remember: everyone else is in the same boat as you. Here at Université de Caen, I study in the Carré International, or the building that houses all of the language and culture classes for foreign students. Right off the bat, I was in a building with several hundred other people of the same age studying the same subjects.

Moreover, Caen is an exciting college town much like Lexington. I can’t recall the last time I went out to a café after class or the last time I was out on the weekend and didn’t see someone I that I know. On top of that, there are some really awesome activities for newcomers.

First, there was Aparta’thon, which was hosted by Erasmus Internationals in Caen. 120 French and foreign students apartment hopped one Thursday evening in small groups, trying local foods and drinks. We ended the night at a club in which we got to see our hosts again and meet the other groups. Some of the other organized activities are cheese tours (that alone would’ve sold me on coming to Caen) and trips to regional landmarks, such as Mont Saint-Michel, the D-Day Beaches, etc.

Additionally, the French café and nightlife culture is such that you’ll always be in good company. They don’t go to cafés after school to work, but rather to relax and socialize (take a hint, America). They also love to go out on the weekends to restaurants and other good hangout spots.

As you apply to college, you should seriously consider schools that have strong study abroad programs; look for schools that have relationships and reputations around the globe, that have strong scholarships programs that not only apply to tuition, but programs abroad, and that have study abroad offices that are involved and truly committed to getting students abroad safely and happily. Sifting through all of that information is intimidating, so take my advice and come to Transy, where over 65% of students go abroad without breaking the bank.

Check out Transy’s Office of Study Abroad here: http://www.transy.edu/programs/study_abroad/

Want to see some more pictures? Check below.

My host family and I went to the beach in Ver-sur-mer for tea and a nice walk

My host family and I went to the beach in Ver-sur-mer for tea and a nice walk

I live just in front of Abbaye-aux-Dames, one of the most celebrated abbeys, and I hear its bells ringing from my room every day

I live just in front of Abbaye-aux-Dames, one of the most celebrated abbeys, and I hear its bells ringing from my room every day

Scallops at the Marché aux Lices in Rennes, the largest market in France.

Scallops at the Marché aux Lices in Rennes, the largest market in France.

