I Wanna Go Home

Lesley Goodaker

For countless Kentucky students, the Governor’s Scholars Program (GSP) is an experience that goes unrivaled for most of their lives. It is an experience that, even as a sophomore in college, I struggle to put into words. Stepping onto the campus as a 2012 scholar, I was ensconced by an atmosphere that promoted community and diversity among staff and scholars alike. I found myself immersed in an environment I had never before encountered, yet, strangely felt right at home.

As my GSP session came to a close, I began to look more closely at my future (aka colleges). During my senior year of high school, I yearned to find a place that replicated the environment I so desperately sought. The more I looked, the more disappointed I became. As time passed, and stories from scholars at other campuses began to surface online, I began to realize that no GSP campus (or session) is alike. Each has its own unique qualities that are a direct result of bringing such a diverse group of individuals together for a common purpose: to share in the joy and passion that comes from learning.

With my senior year winding down, I struggled to let go of my hopes of finding the “GSP feel.” Then I realized, the true uniqueness of the GSP community can never be replicated in a classroom, a Greek organization, or even a sports team. That being said, close seconds certainly exist. It wasn’t until I stepped on Transylvania’s campus that Spring, that I truly felt at home.

Transylvania is by far one of the closest feelings to being back at GSP that I could ask for. Even for students who are unable to grasp what GSP is, Transy offers a uniquely stimulating environment like no other. Unlike most universities, Transy classrooms aren’t dictated by the professor. Most courses offered are a combination of lectures, presentations, and most notably, discussions between students and professors. In this way, Transy not only embraces an academic environment, but provides the means necessary to facilitate it.

Beginning with August term, students are pushed to question and analyze everything. They are encouraged to embrace and learn from the diversity of their peers and professors as well as the greater Lexington area. They are taught to strive for success. Most importantly, they are coaxed to test their own limits, beliefs, and opinions in a way that is beneficial to them.

Every student has their reason for choosing Transy and I’m certainly no different. The most important thing to keep in mind when choosing a college isn’t about prestige or title, but how you interact with the campus and its students, faculty, and staff. Ultimately, the biggest question you have to ask yourself when you leave from a visit is: “Am I Home?”

