Bonjour!

Sam Crankshaw

Settling into a new home in a foreign country with a family you’ve never met sounds a bit intimidating on paper. Be it the language, the transit, the social norms, or being placed in a home with complete strangers, you’ll be intimidated. But fear not! There’s a reason nearly 65% of Transy students go abroad, many more than once.

Luckily for me, this isn’t my first time here. I came to France twice in high school for two different summer programs.

Side Note: Keep those kinds of experiences in mind when applying. Transy actually just removed the requirement to disclose your test scores, and our professors and students love to talk about real-life experience in scholarship interviews. Read about our revised, and rather forward (there’s a reason we’re the pioneers!) application here.

Despite my previous experiences, I am still learning an innumerable about of things every single day. Moreover, the KIIS program and Kathy Simon, our study abroad director, prepared us more than enough.

  • Enough with the sappy uplifting stuff…here are some funny mistakes I’ve made while here.While trying to say my grandparents moved from one house to another, I told a room full of people that they got undressed. That got some funny looks.
  • I may have taken a train in the wrong direction in pouring rain dragging my luggage (okay, two trains in the wrong direction).
  • I got lost and confused in the café on campus and ended up with a plate         of carrots and apples. How’s that for lunch when you haven’t eaten in 5 hours?
  • And last, today I ordered a coffee with my lunch instead of after my lunch. It doesn’t seem like anything to us, but in that moment I slipped; I fell; I crashed and I burned as the waiter and the men at the adjacent table gave me scathing looks and responded with “whatever.”

This has so far been the adventure of my life, and all of the things I take for granted in the US; for instance not having to think twice before I say something as simple as “I’d like a tea,” have challenged me and pushed me. It has certainly been a lesson on empathizing with people abroad everywhere.

Below are some fun pictures.

This is Château de Caen, and it was William the Conquerer's castle. It is between my house and the University, and I cross through its moat and interior every day.

This is Château de Caen, and it was William the Conquerer’s castle. It is between my house and the University, and I cross through its moat and interior every day.

This is the Port de Caen just one street from my house. The Port plus the Château create a very pleasant and interesting walk to class, and those are just two of many landmarks along the way!

This is the Port de Caen just one street from my house. The Port plus the Château create a very pleasant and interesting walk to class, and those are just two of many landmarks along the way!

This is Rue Ecuyère, a street full of café and restaurants where lots of young people and students go to socialize on the weekends.

This is Rue Ecuyère, a street full of café and restaurants where lots of young people and students go to socialize on the weekends.

