New Year, New Beginnings

Sam Crankshaw

Hi all, My name is Sam and I am happy to say that I will be back for a second year of blogging for Transy’s Office of Admissions!

Here are some basics about me: I love all things Transy and all things Lexington; I’m bluegrass born and raised; my blood type is coffee (the vampires on campus don’t seem to mind); politics keep me going; and as per usual I am writing this blog at Third Street Stuff and Coffee.

I am majoring in International Affairs and French. I chose Transylvania because I wanted a quality liberal arts education in an urban setting, and Transy is one of the only colleges in the nation that can offer that.

I spend a great deal of my time with coursework, I am the Vice President of the Student Government Association, I work with the President’s Council on Sustainability, I am involved in Greek Life, and I work for political campaigns. Sleep is not in vocabulary, but nap time most certainly is. In my free time you can find me cozy-ing up with Netflix, jogging, reading, traveling, hiking, biking, kayaking, enjoying downtown festivities and more.

If you kept up with my blogs last year, you will notice a slight change this year. I wrote a lot about why I love Transy and it unique position in downtown Lexington, but this year I have some exciting news; I will be studying in France for the Winter Semester! That’s right. France.

I said earlier that I chose Transy because of its location and education, but did I also mention that it has one of the best study abroad offices? I investigated study abroad at several other universities when applying to college, and none of them had the number of relationships with universities abroad, nor the affordability of Transy’s programs abroad.

The Office of Admissions has conferred me the opportunity to share my experience abroad with all of you through these blogs. I’m looking forward to catching you between flights and coffee, to show you what Transylvania and the global community that it is a part of has to offer.

