Embarking on My New Journey

J.T Henderson

Hi, everyone! My name is J.T. Henderson and I’m a first-year here at Transylvania. I’m from Danville, KY, and I’m the youngest by eleven years of my three older siblings. I’m planning on being a Spanish major with minors in Music and Chemistry and I’m also on a Pre-Med track. I’m always whistling and some of my favorite music is country music from the late 90s and early 2000s.

I’ve only been on campus for a few short months, but I’m already more involved than I thought I would be at this point. I knew when I decided to come to Transy that I would be on the Men’s Tennis Team and a percussionist in the Concert Band, but I never imagined everything else. Currently I’m involved with the A-Team in the admissions office, the Transy Habitat of Humanity Club, the Pioneer Leadership Program, the Crimson Crazies, and I’m a member of Delta Sigma Phi as well as other organizations.

I didn’t – like many Transy students – come to college with the intention of joining a fraternity/sorority. I decided to go through recruitment to meet people and see what the whole fraternity thing was about, but instead found so much more – a brotherhood. I became interested in Delta Sigma Phi and I really liked the guys. I received a bid and ran out to the Sea of Green on Bid Day, which has been one of my favorite experiences at Transy. I’m really enjoying the pledge process and I’m extremely humbled to be a part of such a great brotherhood.

There are a few reasons why I originally came to Transy though. One of the main reasons I was interested in Transy was because of its size: there are about 1100 students with an average class size of 13. I attended the 2013 Governor’s Scholars Program and began to really appreciate community, so when I visited campus, I felt the strong sense of community here. I also chose Transy because I would be able to continue some of the interests I had in high school such as instrumental music and tennis. Transy’s downtown location in Lexington also attracted me because of the abundance of opportunities the city has to offer.

As cheesy as it sounds, I really love Transy and I could not imagine being anywhere else for the next four years. This is my first post as a blogger and I’m really excited to be a part of the blogger team. I look forwarding to sharing some of my experiences and other information about Transy with you all throughout the year. I know finals week and the end of the semester are quickly approaching, so I’d like to wish everyone good luck!

