Endings and Beginnings

Mattie Bruton

I find it simply unfathomable that I am somehow done with my first year of college already. But strangely, this doesn’t feel as much like an ending to me as a beginning. Why? Because I’ve got a whole slew of new experiences and goals lined up for the months ahead.

This summer, I’m lucky to be working a paid position with the PROs (Pioneers Reaching Out) team! That means that I get to spend my summer months living on campus (free housing!), and working with prospective Transylvania students. Truth is, I’ve loved my experience blogging for you guys so much that I knew I wanted to continue to be involved with helping potential future Pioneers with their college selection process. On the PROs team, I will interact with students interested in Transylvania via a variety of media like emails, phone calls, and even social networking sites. I can’t wait to help out college-searching high school students, and I couldn’t think of a more rewarding summer job.

But working for PROs isn’t the only thing I’ve got planned for my summer. I’ve written in previous blogs about my creative writing interests, and about Lexington’s thriving creative writing community. Unfortunately, however, due to the super-crazy-busy newness of my first year of college, I haven’t dedicated quite as much time as I would have liked to nurturing my creative side- I plan to change that this summer by signing up for Lexington Poetry Month, a yearly event sponsored by Accents Publishing. For the entire month of June, I’ll write a poem every day, which will then be posted on the Accents Publishing website- and if I’m lucky, I could even get published in their yearly anthology. Though I do have some trepidations about my work being up on a website for all to see, these anxieties are nothing compared to the excitement I feel at the prospect of writing poetry again after a long hiatus.

Summer is also a great time to focus on giving back to the community- I truly love Lexington and all the wonderful opportunities living here has allowed me. I want to use my summer months to return some of that love back to the city. One of the ways I plan on doing this is to volunteer my time working for the Carnegie Center, a Lexington institution which is focused on literacy and creative projects within the city. I’m in the process right now of checking out their tutoring program and other ways to give my time to such a nifty place.

My first year at Transylvania has shaped me in so many ways- but one of the most noticeable has been my level of confidence. Before my experiences here, I could tend to be standoffish and unsure of myself. Now, I feel ready and eager to take on just about anything, and I plan to put this newfound drive to the test with my summer goals.

