Why Summer Vacation Makes Me Sad

emilymartin

Don’t get me wrong. I love summer — nice weather, no homework, more free time. It’s a great time to relax, hang out with friends and family, and experience new opportunities like internships and studying abroad.

But summer also means that a year of school has ended. And I’ve never been entirely thrilled about that fact. Maybe I just really like school. This year it was especially difficult to come to terms with the fact that school was over. (I’m still a little in denial that next year will be my last one at Transylvania.)

But what a year it was.

I think that’s why the end of the year was so sad. It’s not that I’m not looking forward to all the wonderful things that are sure to happen next year, and of course I’m excited for what grown-up life after college will be like, but sometimes it’s hard to imagine that life could get any better than it was this year. Then again, I thought the same thing last year.

I’m living on campus this summer (come take a tour with me!), so I didn’t even have to deal with the whole packing-everything-up-and-moving-home thing on the last day of May term. I’m still living in a dorm, walking across North Broadway everyday, and exploring Lexington.

But, of course, it’s not the same. I am lucky, though, that so many of my friends are also around for the summer, including several seniors — which means I don’t have to acknowledge that they’re moving on just yet. Still, campus feels strangely empty.

I’m used to passing several people I know by name every time I cross the street, having long conversations with friends in Jazzman’s  between classes, and seeing the walls and doors of every building covered with posters advertising upcoming campus events.

Of course, those changes are to be expected when a school empties out for the summer. Being around when it’s so quiet, though, only reminds me of what campus is like during the school year, and how lucky I am to feel so at home here.

So when you come for a visit this summer, keep in mind that you’ll only be experiencing a fraction of what life is really like around here. You’ll still get to meet students, talk with your admissions counselor, and tour campus. But you won’t get quite the same sense of the community around here. I do still think that feeling is still present over the summer, but it’s not the buildings that make Transy a home away from home. It’s the people.

So use your visits this summer to narrow down the kinds of schools you might be interested in attending. Visits schools of different sizes and in different places. But be sure to come back once school starts so you can really get to see what it’s like to be a Pioneer.

