A Passion for Compassion

Rachel Morgan

Volunteering is a big part of my life; it always has been. I love the feeling you get when you go out and devote your time, energy, funds, whatever you can to others, and the look on people’s faces when you give them that help they need is amazing. I’ve been volunteering through MissionFuge and other organizations since I was in eighth grade; it’s a passion that I love indulging in, unabashedly and unashamedly, and here at Transy I have found many others who share my passion for compassion.

Transy offers so many great opportunities for this. There’s Alternative Spring Break and Alternative Winter Break, where groups of students visit different destinations over break in order to donate time and service to projects. They help with many different things, and while I’ve never gotten to attend one of those missions, they’re wonderful and I have heard only good about them.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We also have events here on campus. I volunteer with College for Living, an organization that offers fun little classes to adults with special needs from around the Lexington community. It’s open to all students to volunteer, and it’s always fun, whether I’m singing, playing music for the dance class, sitting in on art classes to offer a hand where needed, or just sitting outside and helping people sign in to the event. I love everything I can do.

We also have other little events around campus. We recently hosted the Special Olympics here at Transy; we had a giant game day in Beck, playing different events, having different stations to do everything from color to keep balloons in the air to basketball. Greek members of the community were encouraged to wear their letters, but in the end it was a mishmash of fun and color and people. We had so much fun, I wanted to share a few of the pictures with you! Enjoy a few pictures of our wonderful day!

