Working the Student Shift

Rachel Morgan

In high school, many of us held jobs. We worked for our play money, or even to afford book fees or class trips that some classmates just had to ask Mom and Dad for. Well, while college is wonderful and fun, there is a little bit more to buy; you have to buy your own textbooks, and some of them are very expensive. If you held a job in high school, you may be used to working and being a student. If you didn’t, though, and need one now, you might be a little nervous.

Admittedly, I was in the latter category; my parents would not allow me to have a job while I was in high school. I was aware that in college, yes, I would need to work; I am oldest of four children, and I didn’t want to have to keep asking my parents for everything. I was growing up – I wanted to start earning money and help take care of myself. I wasn’t sure how I was going to apply that while a full time student – especially when told my Financial Aid package did not include work-study.

Transy actually had that covered too, if you can believe that.

I work two jobs here at Transylvania. I already wrote a blog about my work at the Alumni Phonathon.  My other job is with the catering team on campus, working under SODEXO. Both of my employers are wonderful; they keep in mind that I am still a student and work around my schedule to make sure they don’t pull me away from classwork and important assignments. Both jobs are on campus, making them easy for me to access and work around.

I know what you’re all thinking – ‘those jobs can’t be the answer for everyone who wants a job’. Well, there are plenty of job opportunities all around Lexington. I have friends who work at Cane’s, friends who work at Urban Outfitters, Starbucks, Third Street Stuff cafe, and many other places around Lexington. It is completely doable to have a job while you’re a full time student; many students here already live that life. So don’t freak out about that – if you’re already sure you’re going to work, it’s okay! You can still enjoy Transy life even with a job.

