Without Them I’d Wither

taylordeaton

It was cold. Scratch that, it was frigid. But, being the rebellious young liberal arters that we are, my friends and I decided, despite the hypothermia inducing conditions, we would brave all that Jack Frost had to offer, making the treacherous trudge to infamous local eatery, Tolly Ho, where Burger nirvana awaited. Fancying myself as the James Dean of our little cadre – and therefore the leader in all things “tough guy”- I scoffed at the layered parkas and jackets employed by my comrades, opting instead for a leather jacket and t-shirt, a la our favorite motorcycle riding bad-boy.

When I say that Tolly-Ho has burgers good enough to make you punch your mother, I have my mom’s medical bills to prove it, but even the sublime savoriness of Lexington’s best sandwich was not enough to galvanize myself against the biting wind and nipping chill. Alas, even though I looked like Mr. Dean, and talked the proverbial talk, I could not, unfortunately, walk the proverbial walk. And so, in a plot twist no one (or everyone) saw coming, I disavowed myself from the ill-advised walk, pointing to trans fats, caloric intakes, and basic human health as all reasons the plan should be abandoned. Apparently, Dean’s impact extended beyond just myself, as the rest of the group was staid and unwavering in their commitment to the cause.

We were now at an impasse- me valuing the long-term health of my appendages over the short term satisfaction of gastronomical heaven – the rest of the group prepared to protect their limbs and satisfy their bellies while not desperately seeking to illustrate how tough they were. If the mythos of the “American Bad Boy” tells us anything, its that he is stubborn to a fault, and there, that night, my stubbornness was, as the great rock band Foreigner once opined, “Cold as ice.” Or maybe unmovable as ice? Either way, you can’t go wrong with a Foreigner reference.

Luckily, my friends recognized my bullheadedness, and, collectively, offered me a beanie, jacket, and parka, so that not only was I warm and cozy, ready to traverse the rest of our path, but also happily reminded that at Transylvania, the willingness of others to help their fellow student knows no bounds.

