DIY Costumes

Lesley Goodaker

In case you missed it, in my last post I reported on this year’s Dance of the Decades for which my friends and I decided to coordinate with Hunger Games themed costumes. As a cash-strapped college student, costumes for various social events can very easily become a burden. While there are undoubtedly some pretty impressive costumes out there,  there is always the option of creating your own look! Today I’ll give you a quick glimpse behind the scenes of my Hunger Games inspired Dance of the Decades costume.

Materials:
  • 1 hot glue gun*
  • 1 bouquet of artificial flowers ($5)
  • 1 spool of clear thread*
  • 1 package of self-stick Velcro ($1)
  • 1 purple dress ($5)
  • 1 purple jacket ($3)
  • 1 pair of black shoes*
  • 1 sheet of fabric ($0.23)
  • 1 hair clip*
  • Assorted make-up*

First I hit up the local Goodwill to ensure that I had a proper Effie-ish outfit. I got incredibly lucky! I was able to get both pieces for under $10!

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Next I had to assemble Effie’s signature headpiece. I took two roses from a bouquet that I got at Wal-Mart. I hot-glued the smaller one inside the larger to give it the Effie-flair. I then used floral wire to attach the flowers to a hair clip.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

To finish off my costume I had to make Effie’s neck piece. I did this by measuring the felt sheet to the appropriate width and circumference (this required stitching two strips together).  Next I placed the self-stick Velcro on the two ends of the the neck piece and hot glued the small flowers from the bouquet onto the outside of the felt.

DOTD3

For the make-up I used products that I already had: pale face powder, pink eyeshadow, mascara, and dark lipstick and applied it according to Effie’s look from the Reaping scene. The photos below show the screenshot of Effie that I used for inspiration as well as the end result–a costume that cost less than $15!

DOD4

Have fun crafting and…

“May the Odds Be Ever in Your Favor!”

