The Thanksgiving Spirit

Rachel Morgan

Thanksgiving, a holiday few seem to remember in our society. Stores will jump straight from Halloween decorations to Christmas lights and décor. It’s a beautiful display, don’t get me wrong, but Thanksgiving still exists, and the meaning our culture puts into the holiday is important to reflect on. It holds the meaning of thankfulness, appreciation and thoughtfulness – ideas we should always hold dear.

In writing this blog, I was going to go into some big speech about gratitude and how I’ve learned to express that gratefulness. But I feel that’s redundant, and frankly not completely true. I’ve always been grateful for the chances I get in my life, the people I meet and the places I go. Transy has given me so much more to be grateful for, though, and that feels much more real, honest – something I can share this holiday season.

I am thankful for school. This sounds crazy. You’re all looking at me like I’ve finally cracked from the stress. Really, though, when you think about it, education is something to be so grateful for. Not everyone gets the chance to go to school, to learn. I love learning about the world around me and different viewpoints on the same topic. I love to study Psychology and understand how people’s minds work, why certain traits are portrayed differently between cultures, how the human mind configures and upkeeps itself. I am thankful that I get to learn and be in an environment that not only allows but encourages me to learn.

I am thankful for my friends. From my sisterhood to my friends in Psych to my friends just because, there’s a network of people I have that Transylvania allowed me to develop. I have friends from different states, different countries, and different walks of life than my own. It allows me to see not just different life experiences, but my own life as well, from a different angle. It’s also wonderful to have a group of friends that not only can I support, but that support me too; from long nights watching Disney movies (and singing along) to study sessions until the wee hours of the morning, I have friends here I couldn’t be more thankful for.

I am thankful for the lessons I learn. And believe me I have learned quite a few. Don’t procrastinate unless you want to be up late fretting over a paper. Don’t be afraid to ask, be it a course pass, a job application, a place at the lunch table – the worst people can say is no. Share your passions with others, as it builds some strong bonds that can last a lifetime. Never give up – if it’s worth fighting for, fight for it with all of you. All of these are lessons Transylvania has helped me truly learn and integrate into my life.

I guess, truly, I am thankful for Transylvania. It is here that I can grow; here I can question everything, and here I can achieve anything.

