Questions from the Class of 2017

brittany fallen

Hi, everyone! I recently asked the Class of 2017 if they had any burning questions about Transy! Here is what they asked:

1. Do students have their own printers or do they print papers out at the library?

There are quite a few printers around Transy that students can use. There is one in each residence building, the library, and academic buildings such as Cowgill. Each student is given an amount that they can spend on printing (I think around $25.00), which can be found when you log into print.transy.edu. Each page costs 5 cents, so this should last you for a while! If you find yourself needing more, you can always add more money to this account!

2. Are you allowed to have friends that don’t go to Transy spend the night with you in your dorm?

Yes, you can as long as it is ok with your roommate and they do not stay longer than three days! Just so you know, you can be held responsible for their actions. For example, if they break an exit sign in Forrer, you could get in trouble or even fined for the damage.

3. Why Is Transy so perfect? (QUOTE: For real, though, like everyone is just so awesome.)

Transy brings all the cool kids to the yard.

4. Whats the process of starting a new club?

I actually played a role in creating a new student organization on campus this past year, the Students Against Hunger and Homelessness, which stemmed from the Peanut Butter and Jelly Club. It was a lot of work but well worth it! First, you need to make sure that there are people interested in being members of an organization like the one you want to form; you will need support and opinions! You will need to find an advisor, a faculty or staff member who is interested in the organization’s interests. Then, you need to put together a Constitution, a document that states the goals, rules, and regulations of the organization. Then, you will need to submit a “Request for Temporary Status” form on TNotes. when this has been approved, the group will be able to conduct limited meetings on campus. Once the group has organized, you must complete a “New Organization Recognition Application,” where you will attach the Constitution and a list of officers and members. The Director of Student Involvement and Leadership will then review the request once everything has been submitted and notify the group within two weeks. (Easy, right?)

5. How much do frats cost?

This is kind of a tricky question. Since I’m not in a frat, I can’t speak from personal experience, but I do know that each of the four fraternities on campus are different in terms of cost. It is also safe to say that it costs much less to be a part of Greek life on Transy’s campus compared to bigger universities. There are also payment plans and scholarships within each organization that are designed to make paying your dues much easier. I’m in a sorority and I pay my dues with no trouble with some of the money that I earn from work-study. I hope this helps!

6. Is there a dress code? I am so sick of dress codes. I guess I am really asking, can I wear leggings any day of the week unless the occasion calls for something more?

Ain’t nobody got time for real pants. So, go for it. As far as I know, there is no dress code and people rock leggings as pants all the time.

7. Am I allowed to run a gambling corner/massage parlor/smoothie bar out of my dorm room?

I’m going to go with no on this one. However, if you just want to be the friendly/creepy guy next door who gives massages and gives them smoothies while playing cards, then that’s probably OK. However, you can’t have a blender in the dorm so good luck making those smoothies.

8. I would like to know more about the campus security systems.

This is kind of a broad question, so I’m going to give you a link to the Campus Safety page on the Transy website! Hopefully you can find what you were looking for there! https://www.transy.edu/campus/safety.htm

