Oh, the Places You’ll Go and the Things You’ll Learn!

malory thelen

When I was a high school senior trying to make my final college decision, there were several factors that influenced my decision.  Also, through my work on STARS (I can never remember what the acronym stands for – it’s like Student Telecounseling Recruiters…with an ‘a’ somewhere in there, but anyway: we’re the students who call prospective students).  Let’s try this again, through my work on STARS, I have also come across recurring concerns or deciding factors for students.  They include:

  1. The Campus Visit: I cannot stress this enough.  This one single day blew the competition away (and it rhymes!).  I went on multiple campus visits, but I just felt so welcome and at home at Transylvania – and that was a feeling that I didn’t get anywhere else.
  2. The Money: Yes, it’s blunt, but this issue has the potential to prevent many students from even considering certain colleges.  However, the truth is, Transy has consistently been ranked one of the most affordable liberal arts colleges in the country.  Here, we promise to meet every student’s demonstrated financial need, and we recently introduced the Pioneer Pledge, where you can lock in a tuition rate for all four years.  Of course, we also offer several scholarships, work study options for those who qualify, and other forms of financial aid.  Check it all out here: http://www.transy.edu/admissions/aid/fin_aid.htm
  3. The Academics: I used to have this idea in my head that to get a superb education, I needed to attend an ivy league school.  However, I could have not been more wrong: Transylvania always challenges its students so that we Question Everything, Accomplish Anything.  Every class incorporates writing (even math classes!) in order to wholly incorporate the liberal arts education.
  4. Location, Location, Location: Transylvania is situated in the heart of Lexington, Kentucky, a medium-sized city.  It is perfect for students like me who don’t have a car: so many local restaurants and shopping places are within walking distance.  It is a city that has so much to offer, both in internships and entertainment.
  5. Study Abroad: I knew that I wanted to study abroad, but I wasn’t sure how plausible it was.  However, Transy’s Study Abroad Office has already been a wonderful resource in learning about options, how scholarships will transfer, and the countless places I could go.  I also recently found this study abroad blog, so others can constantly learn about the unique experiences our students are having: http://transylvaniastudyabroad.wordpress.com/

To the seniors out there who haven’t decided yet: I hope these factors aid you in your final decision, because I know how stressful the decision can be.  But just remember the journey you will embark on during this coming fall – it will be an adventure, wherever you go!

