Meeting J. Douglas Gay Jr. and Frances Carrick Thomas

dorcas washington

Well, actually I didn’t really meet them, but I when to J. Douglas Gay Jr./Frances Carrick Thomas Library also known as Transy’s Library I know I have seen couple portraits of them in the Library.

Now open from 8 a.m. to 2 a.m. Monday through Thursday, Transy’s Library has really since first semester. Earlier this year I raved about Willy T (UK’s Library) but I am really gaining some appreciation for our own and here’s why.

1. They are open later. I normally try to go to bed no later than 3 a.m. (personal choice–college has not forced this upon me) and the library staying open until 2 a.m. gives me a studious place to work an hour before I go to bed.

2. We have amazing research librarians. Earlier this semester I need help finding sources for my First-Year Research Seminar annotated bibliography and I went to librarians who helped me out a lot. They not only helped me gain a better footing on the broad topic but they found journal articles on specific subjects that helped narrow down my thesis.

3. They have a carnival at the beginning of year.  No seriously we had a carnival in the library with candy, games, Fro-Yo’s, Wii , and a dress up booth. Basically, everything you could think of indoors we had. I had a blast and got to meet the library staff without having to ask them for something.

4. They are remodeling the basement this summer to have more group study rooms and provide a space for students to excel academically.

5. There’s a bunch of historical art work all over the building. There are paintings that professors did of their families and portraits of previous presidents. You can literally follow the history of Lexington inside of our library. It’s something that gets ignored quite often but once you actually notice you can’t not see anymore.

