Affrilachian Voices

dorcas washington

A few weeks ago a few friends and I went to a performance by Sisters of the Sacred Drum and Affrilachian Poets. Transy’s Diversity and Inclusion Office invited these two groups to campus in honor of Black history month.

Sisters of the Sacred Drum is an all female drum ensemble that uses rhythms as a method of communication, celebration and community building. They began the program with West African drumming styles. Halfway through their performance they passed out  tambourines and other cultural percussion instruments to the audience.  Before we knew it we were all dancing and trying to play music along the Sisters.

Then, the Affrilachian Poets, an group of minority writers who discuss the culture in the Appalachian area, approached the stage. Our own Dr. Paden, a Spanish Professor at Transy, preformed poems about the Haitian Earthquakes and his grandmother. Three other Affrilachian poets also did an amazing presentation of their works too.

I really appreciate that Transy is able to get such talented artists to campus to preform for us. Coming into college I didn’t see myself going to poetry readings but now I can’t get enough of it. It has definitely change my perspective about the arts. I don’t automatically write off events because I am not familiar with artists or works.

Instead I give it a try. I left the show filled with great memories of good times with friends and a little different understanding of the world.

