Reminiscing: Premier Scholarship Days

malory thelen

The big white building that is Old Morrison. The constant sound of cars rushing down Broadway. That first ingress into the William T. Young Campus Center, where so many smiling faces are waiting to greet you. These were my first impressions of the Transylvania University community when I came to interview for the Premier Scholar Program during the February of my senior year.

Yet, my impressions of the beauty of the campus, the surrounding city of Lexington, and the people who constitute this university continued to grow throughout the day and throughout my first year at this exceptional institution.


Of course, I was nervous for my interview, but everybody made me feel more comfortable here. When I first arrived and started looking around, two current students immediately approached me and made me feel welcome. I remember the opening introductions, and how I could feel the connections of friendship among the admissions counselors and administrators. I remember the speech that one of the seniors gave during the luncheon, and it was that moment that I knew that this was my school. He told us a story about his college years: his narrative style was absolutely enthralling, but the experiences and achievements which he was able to access at Transylvania were equally captivating.

At the end of the day, I felt confident about my interview (the professors were not scary, they made me feel at home), and I thought that I would utilize my 10% discount at the bookstore. I wanted anything and everything Transylvania, and my pockets were much lighter after this splurge. My mom and I even had a great conversation with the lady at the checkout counter.

That day was the seed, the beginning of my endless love affair with my college. I was happy, I was challenged, I engaged in discussion, and I was surrounded by people who were concerned about me personally.

So, as I greeted nervous students entering the good ole’ Campus Center this February, I reflected on my own first introduction to Transy, and I realized that some things never change. The admissions dean Brad Goan still tells Laffy Taffy jokes before interviews, cars still speed down Broadway, and Transylvania still gives me chills when I think about all the possibilities tucked in to this exceptional institution.

