Silly Freshman

rachel johnson

As everyone settles back into the bubble, we inevitably fall back into a routine which was disrupted by winter break. As I reflected back on my time at home, I noticed that I (and a lot of other freshman) made a few very avoidable (but still funny) mistakes that added just a little unneeded stress back into the move-in process.

Here is a list of the biggest ones that I noticed and how you can easily avoided it next year:

3. Messing up your sleep routine: Just like high school. You stay up an hour past your normal “bed time” and pretty soon it’s 2 A.M. and you don’t even notice. When you get back to classes, the re-move-in process and getting used to going back to class is hard enough. Spare yourself and try to keep a regular sleep schedule over the break.

2. Forgetting to open the door on your refrigerator: When I got back from the break, my roommate laughed at me and said “I have a surprise for you!” As she opened the fridge door, I thought “Hey, my birthday was the other day..maybe it’s a cake!” I was sorely mistaken…I looked inside and my fridge was covered in a disgusting layer of mold. My advice here is to not leave any food in your fridge, even if it’s non-perishable and you were just keeping it there. It will mold. Secondly, leave your fridge door open after you unplug it. People won’t tell you that, and it’s what really causes the mold. The fridge still has moisture inside and if it doesn’t evaporate..well..you know. It’s gross and a real pain to have to clean up.

1. Packing too much: I’m not exaggerating when I say that I can’t count on one hand the number of trips I had to make to and from the car when moving things back into my dorm.

First of all, there is no guarantee that anyone (unless your recruit people ahead of time) is going to be there to help you. I went in expecting my close friends and roommate to be available to help me bring in my things from the car, but it turns out they had all made plans for the night by the time I had gotten back. That made it so much worse than move in day.

When you go to pack for winter break, don’t be afraid that you’re going to forget something, because, chances are, you won’t. Just pack the absolute essentials: the least amount of clothes possible, maybe one of your favorite accessories, one pair of shoes…there are sooo many things I thought I would need that I didn’t even use over the break.

