How I Ended Up at Transy

My first official visit to Transylvania University was on May 18, 2010 — I used a day off from school my junior year, but it’s so lame that I remember it. That was my first college visit ever and I was way too excited!

Tour guide Ashley Howe shows a women's dorm room in Forrer Hall on a campus tour.

We had been on campus before to walk around when we were visiting Lexington, but it makes such a difference to have someone point out what each building is used for and — this was always my favorite part of campus tours — show you a real dorm room. The thing I was looking forward to the most about moving to college was getting to decorate the dorm room. And I’ll be honest, the thing I’m looking forward to the most about coming back next year is getting to decorate a different room!

Even though I loved my initial visit to Transy, I knew how important the college decision was to my future and I did not want to make that choice too quickly. So, I visited a few other colleges. That only made my decision more difficult because all the schools I looked at were similar. I knew I wanted to go to a small liberal arts university that wasn’t too far away from my home in Northern Kentucky. Therefore the “small class sizes” argument didn’t do much convincing anywhere because all of my choices had that. I already knew I wanted a certain type of school. That made the admissions process all the more crucial.

I had known about Transylvania for a long time. I am a member of the Disciples of Christ denomination, with which Transy is affiliated, so the college has been represented at general assemblies and I knew a few church members and church camp friends who had attended the school. I knew I shouldn’t decide on an educational institution based on that. But it didn’t hurt… 🙂

So I applied to other schools and visited them too. But the tours were always boring. I loved that on Transy visits, my tour guide seemed to know everyone we passed. They included personal stories to make the tour more about their experiences at the school, while tour guides at other universities stuck to the historical facts about buildings that no one really cares about.

I went on an overnight visit to Transy in December of my senior year and had so much fun! I got to sit in on classes, test the food, and tour downtown Lexington. Even though I had a great visit, I was still apprehensive about making an official decision. It was only when I realized that I didn’t want to do overnight visits at other schools and that I never looked forward to visits at other places, was I sure that I belonged at Transy.

Maybe all along I knew I would end up at Transy and just wanted to be 100% sure. Maybe it was the fun, personable admissions experience that I got here but nowhere else. Either way, I could not be happier with my decision.

Everyone’s college search is different. But if you haven’t visited any schools yet, make Transy your first stop, just in case my process works for you too 😉

