The Transy/Lexington Combo

With March Madness in full swing, there’s one thing on everyone’s mind in Lexington: The Wildcats.

I remember last year when we progressed far into the tournament there were literally couches set on fire in Lexington neighborhoods that are heavily populated by UK students. Even at Transy, organizations like SGA and the Student Activities Board hosted game watching parties.

Lexington/Fayette Urban County Government seal

In all this madness surrounding UK, it might make you think that if you go to Transy you’ll be like the forgotten step-child of Lexington. That’s wrong. Transy is Lexington. In fact, Transy essentially started it all.

(Brief history lesson: The Transylvania Colony preceded the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Transylvania College/University was formed, the first institute of higher learning West of the Allegheny Mountains. Transy directly spawned what would become the University of Kentucky and the city of Lexington was built around the Transylvania campus.)

Don’t believe me? Check out the official seal of the Lexington/Fayette Urban County Government. See that building to the right? It is Old Morrison: Transy’s administrative building.

It isn’t just historic, either. The city and Transy team up pretty often. Recently, our Office of Diversity and Inclusion joined forces with the Mayor’s office to host Flamenco dancing. Transy often plays host to debates during local elections, and (my favorite) every July there’s a city-wide Independence Day celebration on Transy’s grounds.

Why does this matter? Well, my internship with public relations at Toyota has had me networking pretty heavily. When meeting new people in the city, whether it be the mayor or a well-known civic organizer, Transy is often a starting point for getting to know someone. Almost everyone I’ve talked to in Lexington has some sort of “Transy experience” and it is so awesome to be able to share that with people in the city.

Maybe it is because I live off campus, maybe it is because I come from a hometown I really disliked, but Lexington — and the ties it has with Transylvania — remains one of my favorite things about my experience since I moved here three years ago and, honestly, it was something I never expected.

When looking at brochures and even visiting college campuses it is hard to really get a feel for the city’s dynamic, and it is something a lot of people don’t consider, so I definitely encourage you to start thinking about it.

After all, you can’t stay on campus all the time!

