Confessions of a (Very) Picky Eater

The Rafskellar

Everyone is nervous about starting college. Some are worried about adjusting to more difficult school work. Others are afraid of being away from home. Some are unsure how to handle their newfound free time. For me, the most terrifying part of college was the food.

I have always been a very picky eater, so I was nervous about moving to a new place with all new food options. What if I couldn’t find anything I liked in the cafeteria? What would I do then? “Try something new!” was the answer my friends and family gave me, but that was absolutely out of the question.

However, I am pleased to report that with my first year of college over halfway over, I am doing just fine! I have found plenty of food I like on campus, and….I’ve even tried some new dishes.

Breakfast is my easiest meal. The cafeteria has hot food, cereal, fruit, bagels, and more. Jazzman’s Cafe also has delicious breakfast options  — awesome blueberry muffins and plenty of coffee for those who need it (which seems to be pretty much everyone).

For lunch, I have even more options. There’s the Raf, where I have found several tasty options, from popcorn chicken to quesadillas. Often, I eat lunch in the cafeteria. Here, there are shorter lines, and even more variety. For me, I depend on the grill station, where I can always find grilled cheese, burgers, and fries if I’m not feeling adventurous (which is about 95% of the time).

For dinner, the cafeteria is probably the most popular option, with the same amount of variety as at lunchtime. This semester, however, I have started going to “The ’80” — the 1780 Cafe located in Thompson Residence Hall. Here I get, almost without fail, a cheese grilled flatbread: a delicious cheese pizza on a tortilla. The ’80 is open from 7 p.m.-midnight, but if you go right at 7, it’s still feels like dinner time and the line’s not long.

Let me be clear, though: “normal” eaters will have absolutely no problem finding good food at Transy! There’s always a salad bar, sandwich supplies, and more. The cafeteria has a different entree at every meal and often have international food. Other on-campus eateries have menus full of different options. I’m just not quite brave enough to try all of them, but I’m working on it. Slowly.

Of course, I do eat in my room occasionally (my closet contains an unhealthy amount of Ramen noodles and mac and cheese), but I rarely feel like I have to reach for these emergency supplies. Instead, I eat in my room when it’s more convenient, or if I’m feeling particularly lazy. Even though the Caf is just downstairs.

It has been such a relief to find food that I like everyday; it takes one less stress out of the college experience. And if I’m ever indecisive about where to get my next meal, I can always check out the day’s Caf menu on Facebook!

One thought on “Confessions of a (Very) Picky Eater

  1. I really don’t understand how anyone has a problem with the cafeteria food. I don’t have a meal plan, but whenever I’ve dined there there has always been a huge variety that is rather healthy, and it tastes good. I’m a pretty picky eater as well, and I agree that the cafeteria has plenty to offer. Particularly when one is a college student doomed to a ramen noodle diet.

Comments are closed.