This is not a commercial!

Panda Cuisine in Lexington, Ky.

I went to the Panda Cuisine yesterday with my Chinese friends, and absolutely love the Chinese food there! We ordered Mapo tofu, Panda’s fish delight, Yu-shiang garlic eggplant, Pork ribs with torso and Garlic green beans. Among all dishes that we ordered, I especially enjoyed the Yu-shiang garlic eggplant and Fulin’s fish delight.

Yu-shiang garlic eggplant is a spicy dish and is one of the most popular home style dishes in Sichuan province, China. The dish has a very soft taste just like marshmallow because the eggplant is cut into strips and stir-fried in the wok before serving.

In addition to the taste, I love the spicy seasoning on the eggplant. Eggplant has a strong ability to absorb seasoning and thus is one of the most proper vegetables for making spicy dish. Fulin’s fish delight is my second favorite Chinese dish. It also has a very spicy taste, and the fish is boiled in the spicy soup along with vegetables such as bean sprouts and lettuce.

Although the taste of the fish dish last night tasted slightly different compared to the ones back home in China, I still enjoyed the hot fish. Chinese people put much emphasis on the balance of Yin and Yang, so one usually could find meat and vegetable in a dish. All dishes last night tasted great, which reflect me and my friends’ good choices! The dishes also reminded me of the days at home.

There were many Chinese students and families in Panda Cuisine. I also saw some American families dining in the restaurant.

I think that Panda Cuisine and Hunan are the most authentic Chinese restaurants in town, but I will continue exploring more and keep you all posted on Chinese food!

