So…I’m directing this play…

Spinning into Butter by Rebecca Gilman

First of all… Happy Valentine’s Day! Do your moms still get you a box of chocolates or is that just my mom? 🙂

To be honest, I can’t really think about Valentine’s Day because I’m in the middle of tech week for the theater department’s winter show, Spinning Into Butter by Rebecca Gilman, which I’m directing. In honor of Black History Month, the theater department chose to do Spinning because it explores the dangers of both racism and political correctness in America today. Basically, this is the theater department’s way of contributing to Black History Month, by staging a play.

Being in tech week means making sure everything is ready for an audience. The set is done. The costumes fit the actors. The actors know their lines, etc. Tech week is the icing on the rehearsal cake.

Last night, we ran the show as if there was an audience, and I got so excited. Spinning is definitely one of those shows that will make you think about how you feel about certain issues, specifically racism. It’s so easy to shrug racism off as something that died out after the civil rights movement, but that is simply not true. Racism is still around, and still negatively impacting lives. But if we don’t acknowledge that, we’ll never get anywhere in ending racism completely. Spinning is the playwright’s way of starting that acknowledgment, and doing the play on Transy’s campus is our way of making sure the issues in this play get discussed. That’s how powerful theatre can be, people. It can present you with living, breathing images of our world, our culture, our society.

There’s so much else I could say, and I will probably will the day after opening night, but right now I’m just excited that the show is happening and it’s going to have a huge impact on whoever comes to see it. Speaking of which, you should come see it! The Facebook event has all the information you need to come.

I’m so excited about this show, and even more excited about the dialogue on campus it can create. That, to me, is what theatre is all about.

One thought on “So…I’m directing this play…

Comments are closed.