Thanks, Eugene.

Listen, I love a really good sandwich.

I love the warm bread. I love the cheese choices. I love the veggies. A good sandwich can make my day go from zero to hero.

At the Rafskeller, Transy’s diner/fast food-type eatery, we have a wingery and we have a sandwich line. You can get your burgers, chicken tenders, veggie burgers, wraps, soups, and SANDWICHES.

[FUTURE PIONEER TIP: Getting to the sandwich line at around 11:30 a.m. on any given day puts you ahead of everybody, and you can take your time deciding what you want. You can also bag your sandwich if you’re not quite ready to eat.]

Today, I got to the sandwich line at 11:35. I was feeling pretty down because I had been up late finishing a paper and researching theatre companies for my Senior Seminar. I also didn’t have time to get coffee this morning, and this was definitely an I-Need-Coffee-Right-Now morning. Needless to to say, I was Debbie Downer.

So, I’m in the sandwich line. There are usually two people making sandwiches in the Rafskeller, Eugene and Miss Tammie. They are two of the nicest people you will ever meet in your life. They wore Santa hats the week before Winter Break. If you get the same order every time, they will remember it. They love to talk. They love to have a good time. They make really good sandwiches.

Eugene immediately notices that something’s wrong with me. He smiles and says, “What’s up with you, girl? You’re lookin’ kind of  down.” I smile and tell Eugene that I was up late and I didn’t get coffee this morning. He says, “Girl, I know what you mean. This morning it was so cold, I didn’t want to get out of bed. But I did. And I’m here. And I’m glad every day to just be here and livin’. You know?”

Well, no. I didn’t think of it that way. I was too busy being grumpy because I missed one inconsequential cup of coffee.

Eugene finished heating my sandwich and passed it on to Miss Tammie, who knew exactly what I wanted (extra hummus).

As I left the sandwich line, Eugene said, “Keep on keepin’ on. That’s what you got to do even when you’re down.”

Keep on keepin’ on.

I needed to hear that today.

Some weeks are more stressful than others in college, and this has been a stressful week. Eugene caught me at a bad time, and put me a better place.

I left the Rafskeller today in a better mood, with encouragement from a really nice guy, and a really good sandwich.

Day: Made.

One thought on “Thanks, Eugene.

  1. I LOVE Eugene! He always put a smile on my face and made my day brighter! I gave him a hug at graduation, and I think he’s one of the things I miss most about Transy.

Comments are closed.